PDP sweeps Ekiti LG polls

The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has won all the 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Ekiti State in Saturday’s election into Chairmanship and Councillorship seats. Action Democratic Party (ADP), National Democratic Liberty Party (NDLP), Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), People’s Party of Nigeria (PPN) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) participated in the poll.

However, the All Progressive Congress (APC) boycotted the election. Addressing newsmen and other stakeholders, Chairman of Ekiiti State Independent Electoral Commission (EKSIEC), retired Justice Kayode Bamisile, said the exercise was peaceful, fair and free.

In Ido Osi LGA of the state, Returning Officer Isaac Babatunde, announced PDP’s Aladedemi Tunde as winner having polled a total of 24,432 votes against his closest in NDLP’s candidate who polled 121, Vanguard reports. In Ekiti East LGA, PDP’s Ogundana Sikiru Sunday was winner having polled 27,918 votes against his closest opponents of ADP and NDLP who polled 231 votes.

In Irepodun Ifelodun LG, Governor Fayose’s LGA, Ebenezer Tunde Bisi who was the Returning Officer announced PDP’s Dapo Olagunju as winner having polled 31,724 votes against his second runner up of ADP who polled 1,361 votes.

Share this...

Author: see naija

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *